Only a few days remain of my Ashtanga Yoga Teacher Training with Aryan and I’m ready. For it to come to a close that is.

In many ways this month has felt like an eternity. I don’t think I’ve ever been simultaneously challenged (physically and mentally) to the extent that I have as the sole student on this course. But as tough as it has been I’ve never once wished that I was some place else. Here in Dharamsala for three months, I feel like I’m exactly where I am supposed to be.

So what has stood out for me, and what will I be taking away from this past month (aside from the 200 hour certification)? Well, it is the following:

1) I’ve cried. Drop backs you are my nemesis!

2) I’ve laughed. Supta Hasta Padangusthasana adjustments are actually flippin’ ticklish (refer to pic below).

3) I developed an intimate (3 hours a day, 6 days a week) relationship with Patanjali and his 96 yoga sutras (100 more still remain for me to discover). What can I say except that like every relationship it had its ups and downs. There were times I wanted to run screaming for the first open door – how many times can he keep banging on about the need for a one pointed mind!?! But I slept on it, not wanting to make any hasty decisions, and I have decided to see where my journey with this branch of Hinduism leads.

4) My Ayurvedic teacher would like to meet up for chai with this ‘Delicate Darling’ to make sure that I am alright. How could I possibly refuse her?

5) I’m breathing. For the first time I’ve learnt to be disciplined with pranayama.

6) While I may not be able to ‘still my mind’ for more than 20 seconds at a time, I can see the white glowing aura of a black circle. Yeah me!

7) And I’ve committed to at least try and maintain a daily meditation.

8) My asana practice has become truly slow, focused and sweet for the first time since I began practicing Ashtanga three years ago.

9) While I’m happy with and confident in the training that I have received from Aryan, I am acutely aware of how much I still need to learn in order to be a good yoga teacher.

10) Yoga teachers like to adjust me. I get it; I’m quite flexible – it’s the whole how far can she actually bend/stretch thing. But my poor legs and hips feel like they’ve been raped. Would not yours if this was you?

Upavistha Konasana
Supta Hasta Padangusthasana
Baddha Konasana

Anyway… Monday I take my oral and written exams, so all that is left is to be present in my last few days and remain mindful of how truly blessed I am to be in the beautiful Himalayas and this country that I love.

Signing out with ‘love and light’.
XXX

