Sitting here writing what will be my last blog post for this India trip it’s hard to believe that three months have come and gone.

After completing the Introduction to Buddhism and Meditation course at Tushita I continued to walk back up to the forest each morning for their drop in meditation session. Today’s Lam Rim guided meditation, for me, could not have been more fitting – Impermanence. The realisation that everything changes. Nothing can or will ever stay the same. And therefore attachment to anything or anyone is futile.

Still, I have spent the last couple of days saying goodbye to wonderful friends and teachers that I’ve had the privileged of sharing these last few months with. I am walking away forever changed and richer than I could possibly have hoped.

I would like to say thank you.

To Aryan for a yoga teacher training that pushed me to my very limits and from which I learnt so much more than what I was expecting. Thank you for your professionalism, incredible attention to detail (someone who is more anal retentive than me!), and for allowing me the opportunity to teach at your studio with your continued guidance and support after completing my YTT.

To Dr Arun and Dr Vinod at Ayuskama for making me laugh (mostly at myself), for teaching me so much about Ayurveda – more than I know I would have received at any other centre, for all the extra advice, education and support you provided that went far beyond the course I signed up to take. And for turning me into a Vasti Junky!

To Dolma and Lhao Shar Tseyang. We attempted to teach you maths but decided that daily conversations over a steaming cup of chai was a much more appealing option. Thank you both for being such wonderful friends, and today for my Tibetan blessing.

To all my British friends! Yeah, I really don’t know how it is that I traveled all the way to the Himalayas and managed to befriend pretty much all the Poms here! Indya, Asha, Erica, Monica, Samuel and Terry, thank you all so much for so many good times and laughs. And Nick, I have not forgotten you. A very big thank you to you for being my crazy next door neighbour and supportive friend.

To the people of Tibet exiled here in Dharamsala. I came to realise that while we as foreigners see this as a special place, for Tibetans it is not so. But rather a small part of  a very big country in which they are able to live. For all, their wish is to return to their home and to their families.  My hope is that one day Tibet will be free.

And lastly to India. Thank you India for making me laugh, making me cry, driving me crazy, giving me every bloody stomach issue possible (!), and most importantly, for continuing to be my greatest teacher.

And just because I’m leaving I got the official start of Monsoon send off!

