“If there is one place on the face of the earth where all the dreams of living men have found a home from the very earliest days when man began the dream of existence, it is India.”Romain Rolland, French scholar 

It’s always hard to say goodbye. It’s even harder when it’s the love of your life.

But nothing lasts forever, and so, it is with bittersweet excitement that we set off on a farewell tour of Incredible India. Why am I saying goodbye? For the very reason that I’m not embarking on this trip alone – I cheated on India and fell in love with someone else. One Michael William McNally, and apparently having more than one love of your life is taboo. Who knew.

Truthfully, it’s because Michael is from a land far far away.

He left behind family and friends in the US and moved half way across the world to the bottom of the African continent, and for the foreseeable future we really want to spend our holidays going back west. Michael wants to see his family as much as possible, and I want to get to know my in-laws, brother and sister in-law, niece and nephew, and the place my husband grew up and will always call home.

When we one day have children, we want them to feel connected to their American roots and to truly know their family – more than just over a computer screen.

So it’s goodbye India and hello USA!

Almost.

I hope that I will find my way back to this special place in the distant future, but until then I’d like to finish the way I started – simply traveling through India and experiencing whatever she has to show me. No yoga, no philosophy, just India.

And selfishly, I want to show Michael India. Though I know he will most likely not love it like I do, at the very least he needs to know where to come and scatter my ashes (and no Michael, it is NOT the Missouri river).

image

